What Drivers Need to Know About Car Insurance Coverage in NJ

Every driver in New Jersey is required to have sufficient car insurance. Failing to carry the state’s minimum insurance can lead to traffic violations and personal liability if you’re in an accident. Learn everything you need to know about auto insurance coverage in New Jersey, including state minimums and important steps to take following a car accident.

New Jersey’s Minimum Insurance Requirements

All drivers in New Jersey must carry the following minimum insurance:

  • A minimum of $15,000 per person of bodily liability coverage
  • A minimum of $30,000 per accident to cover all injuries
  • A minimum of $5,000 property damage coverage
  • A minimum of $15,000 per person for personal injury protection

Minimum coverage means the minimum amount you can legally carry when driving in New Jersey. Some policies may include more coverage, which can reduce your liability and out-of-pocket costs if you’re involved in an accident. Failing to carry the minimum can lead to fines between $300-$1,000 for first-time offenders. Repeat offenders may be charged up to $5,000 per offense. The state may also suspend a person’s driver’s license if they fail to carry insurance on their vehicle on separate occasions. In some cases, the state may even impose up to 14 days in jail for repeat offenders.

New Jersey Full Coverage Auto Insurance

Full coverage refers to an auto insurance policy that covers more than the minimum. If you’re in an auto accident with basic coverage, it’s unlikely that your insurance provider will cover things like vehicle repairs or property damages. A full coverage insurance policy typically includes both collision and comprehensive coverage.

Collision insurance covers all accident-related costs, regardless of who’s at fault. A comprehensive coverage policy covers damages to your vehicle that aren’t related to an auto accident. This may include weather-related damage, like tornadoes or flooding. It may also cover the theft of your vehicle. Full coverage insurance policies cost more but offer added protection if you need to file a claim. If you have a loan on your vehicle, you may be required to have full coverage. Always review your insurance needs before choosing a policy.

New Jersey’s No-Fault Insurance Laws

New Jersey is a no-fault insurance state. This means that you’ll turn to your insurance company to cover your costs in an auto accident, regardless of who’s at fault. This doesn’t mean that you don’t have any other options available if your insurance company doesn’t cover the full extent of your damages.

If your insurance company doesn’t cover your damages, you may be able to file a personal injury claim against the responsible driver. If you’re injured in an accident in New Jersey, and you find that the amount offered by your insurance company isn’t enough to cover your costs, it may be in your best interest to reach out to a personal injury lawyer.

What to Do Following a New Jersey Car Accident

Following any car accident, the first thing you need to do is receive medical care. From there, collect any available evidence, like photographs or videos of the scene of the accident. Be sure to notify your insurance company of the auto accident as soon as possible. Then, consider reaching out to a personal injury lawyer to help you recover the compensation you need on the road to recovery.

Contact a Linwood Personal Injury Lawyer to Discuss Your Car Accident Case in New Jersey

Did you or a loved one sustain serious injuries due to a car accident in New Jersey? Don’t let the medical bills pile up while you wait for the negligent party or their insurance company to do the right thing. Right now, you need an aggressive personal injury attorney on your side, fighting to get you the compensation you need, want, and deserve. The skilled attorneys at The Law Offices of Richard A. Stoloff represent clients injured because of a car accident in Linwood, Egg Harbor Township, Atlantic City, Galloway Township, Hamilton, and throughout New Jersey. Call (609) 601-2233 or fill out our online contact form to schedule a free consultation about your case. We have an office conveniently located at 605 New Road, Linwood, NJ 08221, as well as an office in Philadelphia, PA.

The articles on this blog are for informative purposes only and are no substitute for legal advice or an attorney-client relationship. If you are seeking legal advice, please contact our law firm directly.